Why am I writing this blog?

My sister, Patricia and I still take God trips together

My sister and I grew up in a family which I only recently realized was not entirely normal.    Most people who start out going to the movies, go to the movies.  Not our family. 

Dad and Mom called them “mystery trips.”  My younger sister, Patricia and I would think we were going to go see a “Ma and Pa Kettle” movie but in the trunk of the Buick were out little blue suitcases packed for who knows where.  One time we ended up in Cape Cod.  Dad followed the red lights of the car in front of us because that was all we could see in the pea soup fog.  We ended up following the man’s car into his garage. Guess where we slept that night?  (The family did take us in.  After all, we had our pajamas and toothbrush.)

Another time we thought we were going to an amusement park and we ended up in the Thousand Islands.   Another time our car broke down in a town so small they didn’t have a motel, and we stayed in the home of the local banker who just happened by the gas station.

God Trip Rule: What I learned from those trips is to simply let go.

God trips are all about NOT knowing where you will end up.  All you need to do is follow where God leads you.  You might have an idea of where you think you are going, but as Proverbs 16:9 says, “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.”

I am writing this blog because it is on these trips that I have learned the most about trust.  I am never late, never in the wrong place, never with the wrong person, never lost.  Rather I am on time, in the right place, with the right person and always where I am supposed to be. 

 As Mitch Hedberg once said, “I’m sick of following my dreams.  I’m just going to ask them where they’re going and hook up with them later.”

Meanwhile, enjoy the trip…and let me know where you end up.  And pack some pj’s.

2 responses to “Why am I writing this blog?

  1. I am so glad to have shared all of those family mystery trips with you & our amazing, hard-working, fun-loving parents!!!!

Leave a Reply

